Current Location:Home > NEWS > Standards Australia recognises exceptional contributions to standards development with 2023 Awards
Standards Australia recognises exceptional contributions to standards development with 2023 Awards
share: Updated:2023-05-26 00:00:00

Standards Australia has announced the winners of its annual Standards Awards at a ceremony held in Canberra on May 26, 2023.  

These awards recognise the remarkable achievements of members within the Australian standards development community, especially those who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, technical expertise and contributed positively to the development and enhancement of standards. 

By promoting the use of national and international best practices and incorporating emerging technologies, these exceptional community members have played a pivotal role in improving standards across various sectors. 

Brian Richardson, a leader in the electrical safety industry, has been honoured as the winner of the prestigious W.R. Hebblewhite Medal. With an impressive contribution spanning some 30 years, Brian has been actively involved in various Standards Australia committees, earning him widespread recognition and respect. The W.R. Hebblewhite Medal recognises Brian for his exceptional dedication and contribution to standardisation with his expertise at both the local and international level. 

Despite his demanding role as the Director of Equipment Safety & Licensing at the Electrical Safety Office, Brian also devotes energy to the development of safety standards. He plays a crucial role in critical projects for the EL-042 committee, including the DC isolator standard, the ongoing inverter standard project, PV installation standard, and the battery energy storage installation standard.  

The awards presented during the ceremony were: 

W.R Hebblewhite Medal – Brian Richardson 

Meritorious Contribution Award (National) – Bruce Cannon

Meritorious Contribution Award (International) – Dr Tafline Ramos

Emerging Leader Award – Jason McGee

Innovation Award – BD-002 Concrete Structures

Outstanding Committee Award - IT-043 Artificial Intelligence 

“The highly anticipated annual Standards Awards acknowledge and honour those within our community who exemplify Standards Australia’s fundamental values of quality, community and innovation. It was a privilege to host this event and meet the individuals responsible for advancing standards and fostering excellence in their respective fields,” said Adrian O’Connell, Chief Executive Officer of Standards Australia. 

“By honouring our annual Awards recipients, we highlight the contributions they and all of our supporters have made towards our goal to be a global leader in trusted solutions that empower communities.” 

Friend Link
Ministry of Commerce of the people's Republic of China
State Administration for market Regulation
Standardization Administration of China
National Center of Standards Evaluation,SAMR
China National Institute of Standardization
China zhijian Publishing House
国家市场监督管理总局国家标准技术审评中心 电话:010-65009141 转(121)